Trust and Obey – For There’s No Other Way

Romans 12:2

“Don’ t copy the behaviour and customs of the world, but let  God transform you into a new person by changing the way you think. Then you will learn to know God’s will for you, which is good and pleasing and perfect”.

For some people change may occur naturally. But, in my case, the only way in which He could grab my attention was to cause me to be very seriously ill. My doctor expected me to die, my loving wife, Marlene, saw the spirit of death with me, but God had other ideas.

He even sent me my own very special Angel in the form of Marlene, thousands of miles from her home in Durban, to fall in love with me and to provide me with the 24/7 care which I needed whilst I was so dangerously ill.

For many years, Marlene has been a lay preacher and she taught me to pray. And I spoke to God in a way that I had never done before and He listened to my prayers and slowly I found myself knowing that I was back in the world of the earthly living.

Although I am now very disabled, and cannot walk far, I can drive my little car, go to Church and I do make it into a few shops, where the parking is user-friendly for disabled people.

But, at least, I am alive – and I know that the Lord, my God, even though I may be limited in certain physical respects, has great plans for both Marlene and I. 

During the past year I have personally witnessed numerous miracles in my life – some minor and some fairly dramatic. The biggest miracle for Marlene and I – for which we are presently awaiting – is for God to find a way for us to obtain a spousal visa for Marlene.

Marlene is presently back in Durban as under the new draconian immigration laws imposed upon us by the UK Government obtaining a spousal visa is very challenging.

I am reminded of Romans 4:18 which says:-

“Even when there was no reason for hope, Abraham kept hoping – believing that he would become the father of many nations. For God had said to him, ‘that’s how many descendants you will have’.

Abraham –  at the age of 100 – must have been infertile and Sarah – about 90 years old – was definitely well past child bearing age, yet God created a miracle and gave them a son, out of Sarah’s womb.

God is awesome; He is a God that can make the impossible possible!

Jesus said ‘Ask and it shall be given unto you’

But sometimes you need to remember that we have to be patient for our prayers to become answered. In the Bible, mention is often made that prophecies have taken many years to become a positive reality.

And, of course, when saying the Lord’s Prayer we repeat the words ‘Thy will be done’. Not my will, or your will, but God’s will!

During the past year, since I have come to know Jesus as my Saviour, I pray several times per day. Our home is now a House of Prayer. And I feel His presence growing deeper with every passing day.

And I know that God always hears my prayers and fulfils my spiritual needs. And I believe, I strongly believe, that He will give Marlene and I the BIG miracle for which we ask every day.

We must not look back – whatever we have done in the past is behind us. God has forgiven us all our sins, what He is only interested in is what we are going to be doing in the future.

Look at it this way. If God had meant us to be always looking backwards then He would have given us another set of eyes in the back of our head.

But since the only eyes we have are to be found on our face He must have only intended that we should look ahead!!

At the first Sunday Service where I heard Marlene preached, she included the hymn:-

Trust and Obey
For there’s no other way
To be happy with Jesus
But to trust and obey.

Are you ready to ‘Trust and Obey?’

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Trust and Obey – For There’s No Other Way

Leave a Reply

