Charles Spurgeon: The Power of the Word

Charles Spurgeon called upon one of his congregation one Monday. He found her very busy washing wool in a sieve under a pump.

“Well, Mary,” said he, “How did you enjoy last Sabbath’s discourses?”

“Very much, sir; they did me much good.”

“Well, what was the text?”

“I’m sorry, I do not recollect.”

“Perhaps you remember the subject?”

“No,” said she, “it is quite gone from me.”

“Do you remember any of the remarks which I made?”

“No; they are all gone.”

“Well then, Mary,” said Charles Spurgeon, “it could not have done you much good.”

“Oh! But they did me a great deal of good.”

“How can that be?” he asked.

“I will tell you, sir, how it is; I put this wool in the sieve under the pump, I pump on it, and all the water runs through the sieve, but then it washes the wool.

So it is with your sermons; they come into my heart, and then they run right through my poor memory, which is like a sieve, but it washes me clean, sir.”

“You might talk for long while about the cleansing and sanctifying power of the Word,” said Mr Spurgeon, “and it will not make such an impression on your congregation as this simple story would.”

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

With many peaceful blessings

Geoffrey

One thought on “Charles Spurgeon: The Power of the Word

Leave a Reply

