I’m Not Afraid To Be Alone

I’m not afraid to be alone,
It doesn’t bother me;
It gives me time to think,
To let my thoughts go free.

I like to plan the days ahead,
Recall events long past,
To wonder what the future holds
—Time goes so very fast.

I may not finish all I plan,
I know I often stray;
When memories of youth intrude,
There’s no work done that day.

I think of friends from long ago,
I very seldom see,
No, I’m not lonely by myself,
My thoughts are company.

(Margaret Riley)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

With many peaceful blessings

Geoffrey

PS Margaret’s poem resonates deeply with me. I am not afraid to be alone either; even though I am disabled!

Leave a Reply

