60+ Years Young

Having now several more years than 60 I felt a natural empathy with this poem:-

It’s sixty years since I was young,
And played games in the street;
And now I’m old and stiff – and, oh,
I’m heavy on my feet.
But when on summer evenings I
Look in the court below,
And,  see the children, and hear them shout
As they run to and fro,
I have a sudden urge to say;
“Please will you let me come and play?”

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

With many peaceful blessings

Geoffrey

Leave a Reply

