Who Am I?

I’m not sure if it’s the result of the ageing process, but I’m increasingly forgetful. This forgetfulness assaults me on two fronts. Most obviously, perhaps, I put something down and when needed again, cannot find it. This can be as simple as locating the car keys to slightly more serious issues such as locating important documents. How can there be so many safe places? The second front is when I set out to the Post Office, letter in hand for posting, and return home with the letter still firmly grasped between my fingers!

Many of us spend an inordinate number of years seeking to ‘find ourselves’. This can be on issues surrounding identity, a job fit, a congregation that suits, and the like. We put on all sorts of ill-fitting outfits, much as David tried Saul’s armour before facing Goliath. As with David, we quickly discover that all out attempts are unhelpful, and if pursued would be unhealthy.

St Paul tells us that if we are looking for our life we are in fact to look no further than Jesus, as he writes, ‘your life is hidden with Christ in God’ (Colossians 3:3, NRSV). So to find my life I need to find Jesus, and my life is hidden in Christ for the simple reason that I died to myself in response to God’s invitation to accept his offer of salvation.

So the only outstanding question is: how do I find Christ? ‘Well, where did you last leave him?’ is my swift reply. Jesus is encountered in the gathered Church, in the Eucharist, in scripture and in the spaces we create to meet with him. We are invited to establish the habit of often returning to Jesus. Just as I always put the car keys on the hall table once I walk through the front door and instinctively know where they are, when I adopt similar habits for welcoming and worshipping Jesus, I once more find myself and am able to live no longer searching but knowing precisely where and who I am.

(Dr Micha Jazz)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

With many peaceful blessings

Geoffrey

One thought on “Who Am I?

Leave a Reply

