God – Our Forever Friend

God is continually reminding us that he is our forever friend. It is in the very heat of the action that we are to call upon his name, and he promises to hear and answer us. God requires that we are fully aware of our need for him, a need that is no less real than the day each of us first surrendered to God’s Lordship over our lives.

While I have numerous schemes and plans for self, aka godly improvement, every one of them is incomplete unless it is birthed in the heart of God through prayer. I, like the psalmist, regularly cry out to God, ‘hear my prayer…for I need your help’. Humbly accepting my own need creates the space for God to be present to me. Until and unless I admit my reactive nature as something broken within me, neither Katey nor Jayne could get through my defensive wall of word and emotions and support me back on to a road to recovery.

You, and I, like to live in a world in which our behaviour and perspective is the point that calibrates everything and everyone. However, the only point of calibration you need to worry about is God. It is to God you call out in times when doubts and insecurities grow strong and begin to exercise their muscle. Your behaviour reflects whom you serve, and scripture reminds us that Jesus, who we have committed to follow, was ‘meek and lowly in heart’ (Matthew 11:29, KJV).

(Dr Micha Jazz)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

With many peaceful blessings

Geoffrey

Leave a Reply

